Florida Adjuster Licensing For Non-Residents – A Guide to Licensing


The Florida All Lines adjuster license is the highest level of licensing for the claims profession in the state of Florida. The non-resident FL license is available to residents of other states under certain conditions.

In all cases, an applicant must be at least 18 years old and be either a U. S. citizen or a resident legal alien authorized to work in the United States. Upon application for the license, the applicant will be required to submit fingerprints for a background check. A felony conviction or other ‘crimes’ of moral turpitude will normally disqualify the applicant for licensing.

If the applicant is from a state that requires adjusters to be licensed, that applicant must hold the home state’s license before FL will grant a non-resident license. If the applicant is from a state that does not require adjusters to be licensed, that person is eligible to apply for the FL All Lines license.

In order to qualify for the license, an individual must either take and pass the state examination, or qualify through designation, such as the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation offered by the University of Central FL/Florida Insurance University. The ACA Designation will excuse the applicant from the necessity of taking the state exam.

The Florida license is sought by those in the insurance industry because of its reciprocity with other states. In other words, once an individual holds the FL license, that same individual will be eligible for licensing in other states without further qualification, other than filing an application. Texas is one of Florida’s reciprocal states and between Texas and Florida’s reciprocity, an applicant will be eligible for licensing throughout the country with very few exceptions. A list of Florida’s reciprocal states includes:

Arkansas – Independent only

Connecticut – Independent, Public, and Company

Georgia – Independent and Public adjusters only. (Does not require licensure for Company adjusters)

Illinois – Public only

Kentucky – Independent, Public, and Company

Michigan – Public and Independent

Minnesota – Independent and Public

Mississippi – Independent only

New Mexico – Independent and Company

North Carolina – Independent, Public, and Company

Oklahoma – Independent, Public, and Company

Oregon – Public and Independent

Pennsylvania – Public

South Carolina – Independent and Company only

Texas – Independent and Company

West Virginia – Independent, Public, and Company

For more information on licensing see the Accredited Claims Adjuster Designation information at the University of Central Florida’s website or call: (407) 927-1235. Application for the license is online at the following web address:

Leave a Reply

Next Post

Students and Their Personal Finances

You have just started University or College. Money has become a huge matter because the expenses have increased. You decide to get a student loan or perhaps a scholarship but financial aid can be very complicated and there are many other students just like you. When you do have money, […]